Join a Bicycle User Group.

Bicycle User Groups (‘BUGs’) are community-based organisations formed to address local and sometimes broader issues to try to improve conditions for bicycle users and Active Transport generally. BUGs are often associated with specific council areas, but they can also be associated and focus on workplaces, schools and tertiary education institutions – anywhere there is a community of people interested in making better use of their bicycles and promoting provision for Active Transport. BUGs can be as small as 2 or 3 people. They are a good ‘first point of contact’ when you have concerns about:

  • your local cycling network
  • the state of local pathways or roads
  • interactions with motor vehicles and safety issues
  • opportunities to improve conditions for safe & secure bike use

BUG members can also be an excellent source of support & guidance when you are faced with purchasing or maintaining your bike or riding a specific route for the first time. 

Below is a list of SA’s BUGs with contact details. Please send new contacts or corrections to the BISA secretary at:

If there’s no BUG near you and things need improving – start one yourself!



Contact Person

Contact details

Adelaide City Council (ACC-BUG) Currently unknown  
Adelaide Uni – Waite Campus BUG Ryan Farquharson email:
WestsideBUG (City of Charles Sturt) Giulio Ponte facebook:
Adelaide BUG Heather email: adlbug [at] internode [dot] on [dot] net web site:
East End BUG Previous Ben Russ – currently not known  
Flinders Uni BUG  Sue Hixson email:
Goolwa & Districts BUG (GAD-BUG)  George Bennett
Mount Gambier BUG Sharon Holmes email:
North Tce Precinct BUG (Adelaide Uni etc) David Ladd email:
Parliament House BUG Mark Parnell MLC  
Port Adelaide/Enfield BUG (PortBUG) Sam Powrie email: portadbug@gmail.comweb site:
Prospect BUG  Heather email: prosbug@internode.on.netweb site:
SA Water BUG Previously Kim Letton Current unknown  
Tonkin Consulting Tim Kerby email:
Unley BUG Tanja Lenz email: ubugsecretary@gmail.comweb site:
Women’s & Children’s Hospital Kevin Duffy email:
WestSide Bug Giulio Ponte facebook:




Salisbury BUG   facebook:
Marion & Holdfast Bay BUG Jim Lally facebook:
Coast to Vines BUG   facebook: